Day 2: My appetite is not satisfied…

Today was a little more difficult than yesterday to adhere to the $7/day challenge because I felt like I was constantly hungry. Maybe it was because I had a little jog this morning, but 30 minutes after breakfast, I was already thinking about lunch. After lunch, I was looking for snacks… I’m beginning to realize how much unnecessary food I eat during the day while I’m at work. Candy, chocolate, anything… and now that I’m refraining from snacking, I’m really noticing it.

soup2

Luckily, for dinner I still had the leftovers of the hearty soup Lav made for me yesterday. We added some pasta shells today to add a bit more substance… even tastier than yesterday. Soup is a fantastic option for a cost effective, nutritious meal.  But I have to admit:  as I type this, I’m already hungry again! Maybe I’ll down a tall glass of water…

Breakfast
Honey Bunches of Oats with Almonds – $0.50
Milk – $0.50

Lunch
Grilled Cajun Chicken Sandwich – $3.40

Dinner
Yesterday’s swiss chard and zucchini soup with beans and pasta shells – $1.90
Marzipan snack treat – $0.50

~ by jak on April 21, 2009.

2 Responses to “Day 2: My appetite is not satisfied…”

  1. I don’t know if your doing this but shopping in a big supermarket’s bulk section can really stretch you dollar. You can buy in very small quantities and still get the lower “bulk” price.

    I can help you with your post breakfast hunger: switch your cereal to old fashioned oatmeal (instant or “Quick” isn’t filling enough). Buy it in the bulk section to save money; you can buy it a serving size at a time if you’re really buying your food by the day. You can cook it on the stove top or use the microwave thus: In a fairly large ceramic or glass bowl: 1/3 cup oatmeal, 1/2 cup H2O plus a smidge of salt (optional). Nuke on medium for 3 minutes. Watch it the first time you cook it this way to make sure it doesn’t boil over. Stir and let stand about a minute, stir again. Add milk; enjoy. Alternatively, if you’ve got an apple in your food alottment, cut it into slices & save for later. Now trim every scrap of remaining apple from the core (you should get a tablespoon or so) and add it to the oats before you cook.

    Also, I personally find peanut butter puts a dent in hunger. Buy one that’s not sweetened and spread it on bread, crackers or celery if you can. (Look for grind-your-own in the bulk section too) Just remember NOT to add jam or honey – this will make you feel more hungery soon after.

    Good luck with your experiment.

  2. […] Day 2: My appetite is not satisfied… from Fishes and Loaves […]

Leave a Reply

 
